The church’s one foundation…

By Baldmichael Theresoluteprotector’sson

…is Jesus Christ, her Lord. The first words to the hymn written by Samuel John Stone in the 1860’s. You can find the lyrics here.

https://hymnary.org/text/the_churchs_one_foundation

I loved the hymn as a child and I still am inspired by it. I was reminded of it by a discussion I am having with a Catholic regarding the foundation of the church.

As a consequence I looked up the following passage in 1 Corinthians 3 v.11.

“For no one can lay a foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ.”

In the interlinear text from the link below it actually starts with the word foundation.

https://biblehub.com/interlinear/1_corinthians/3-11.htm

This is a good place to start of course as the foundation of a building relies on its foundation to support the remaining structure.

And of course Jesus used the parable of the house built upon the rock and the house built upon the sand. See Matthew 7 v.24-27.

Anyway, in Greek the word for foundation is θεμέλιον, ‘themelion’. This will anagram to the following:

lie on them – which is what buildings do

Elohim ten – Elohim is the word translated ‘God’ in the Old Testament but strictly means ‘Angels’. Interestingly the number ten is representative of God which I will explain further in another post.

In the Elmo – Elmo means “to love; God’s helmet”.

https://www.thinkbabynames.com/meaning/1/Elmo

This reinforces the sense of love being a foundation.

Eolith men – eolith (from Greek “eos”, dawn, and “lithos”, stone)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eolith

Jesus is thought of as the ‘bright morning star’, so he is the dawn stone, the first stone, first foundation of men, of mankind.

Me neolith – similar to above

In Mel Theo – who is Mel? There was Melchizadek, ‘’king of righteousness’ or ‘my king is righteousness’.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melchizedek

The lion me – reminding us of the lion of Judah, i.e. Jesus Christ.

https://www.christianpure.com/learn/why-is-jesus-called-the-lion-of-judah

I helmet on – interesting I think and note ‘in the Elmo’ above with Elmo having a meaning of ‘God’s helmet’.

I lent home – what sits on foundations

I men hotel – as above

He in motel – as above

Summary and final thoughts

I think that’s enough to give food for thought. The Greek word pronounced ‘themelion’ contains English phrases indicating the nature of the word. This shows how language is all intertwined and much closer than we might imagine.

So the truth is in the word ‘themelion’, ‘the me lion’ and Jesus is the lion of Judah, we might say the lion king.

‘The’ sounds like ‘thee’ meaning ‘you’ in English and ‘lion’ sounds like ‘lie on’, so the whole is ‘Thee me lie on’, you can lie on Christ, the foundation for life!

So it is all in the word ‘themelion’.

And in the beginning was the word…

Look out for the sign of Baldmichael, he will be back!

P.S. If you are interested in more things related to Jesus then you will find some specific articles here in THE REFECTORY in my World Menu. Just use your browser’s ‘find’ button to get to it quickly once on the page.

Author: alphaandomega21

Baldmichael Theresoluteprotector'sson. When not posting pages or paging posties, trying to be a good husband, and getting over a long term health issue, I am putting the world to rights. I have nothing better to do, so why not? But of course that includes dancing, being funny (in more than one sense), poking fun at life, poking fun at myself, deflating the pompous, reflating the sad. Seeking to heal the whole of the soul (and body where possible). In short making life as good as it possibly can be for others as well as myself. You can't say fairer than that. But if you can, please say. People need to know.

Leave a comment